?

Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

Age Meme

The Rules: you comment saying you want to do the meme, I give you an age (give me a maximum, either your current age or some younger age, as you prefer), and you fill out the meme questions with what applied to you back then, and what applies to you now. [personal profile] yohjideranged gave me Age 22, which covers the last few months of college and most of the first year out (March 1995 - March 1996).

I lived in:
Then:This was a year of changes. I started out in a dorm room, a suite shared with my friend A, at Bryn Mawr College. After graduation, I moved in with my parents in Santa Rosa, CA for the summer, then into a house with my then-boyfriend and a friend and co-worker of his, in Palo Alto. That housing situation was a disaster, though, and within a couple of months we'd left the co-worker and moved to Mountain View with our friend E, whom we barely knew at that point. Fortunately, it worked out well, and he's still one of my closest friends.
Now: San Francisco, with my husband. We've been in the same place since 2000 and have no current plans to move.

I drove:
Then: I didn't have a car of my own until 1997. No car at all in college, when I lived with my folks I most often drove my dad's '89 Ford Tempo, and after moving out I sometimes drove my boyfriend's '86 Toyota Camry.
Now: A 2009 Honda Fit that was a gift from my mother-in-law when she no longer needed a second car.

I was in a relationship with:
Then: My college boyfriend G -- we started dating that September (after meeting on an airplane) and were together for almost four years. During that year, we were fairly solid. The cracks starting showing a couple of years later, when I went to grad school.
Now: T, my husband. Together going on 17 years; our 11th wedding anniversary is on Saturday.

I feared:
Then: Being broke, never finding a good job, losing touch with my close circle of college friends.
Now: Never finding a good job (this may be the thing that has changed least), serious health problems.

I worked at:
Then: First a college student, and also a student worker at the college library. After graduation, I took back my regular summer job at the local county fair until I stumbled into a secretarial job at a small architecture firm. It was kind of a lousy job, but it got me out of my parents' house and convinced me that library school was my true calling.
Now: Currently, part-time temporary at a social science research organization. There are moves to possibly make it more permanent, which I will talk about when I'm more sure it's gong to happen. It's a pretty good place to work, if not quite the career path job I was wanting.

I wanted to be:
Then: Done with school, in a stable relationship, someone who knew what they wanted out of life.
Now: An academic librarian, but that doesn't seem to be in the cards in the short term. A good partner, a good friend, more healthy, a better writer.

This entry is also posted at http://owlmoose.dreamwidth.org/718330.html. There are currently comment count unavailable comments on DW.

Tags:

Comments

( 1 comment — Leave a comment )
(Deleted comment)
( 1 comment — Leave a comment )

Latest Month

April 2017
S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Tags

Page Summary

Powered by LiveJournal.com
Designed by Lilia Ahner